There is just one week left to submit your entries into this year’s awards. They are free to enter, and this year’s eight categories include those for digital health, community impact and young pioneers. Past winners include Bristol Braille Technology who developed the world’s first multi-line braille reader designed with and by the blind community, the Dyslexic Aid developed by two school-girls and Fizzyo, a breath-controlled video game to help make home physiotherapy practice more exciting.

Anna Easton, Director of Sustainable Business at BT – who sponsor the awards – says:

“Technology is the most powerful tool we have to take on society’s most pressing challenges. We founded the awards with AbilityNet to showcase those who are at forefront of technology innovation, designing solutions that deliver positive impact in communities all across the globe. Their stories will inspire the next wave of innovation and ultimately a better world”.

Mark Walker, Head of Marketing and Communications at AbilityNet, who organise the awards, says:

“We are so enjoying receiving the entries for this year’s awards. There is such depth and breadth to the ideas, talents and skills that go into making this technology, and the awards are the perfect way to celebrate them.”

“For example, last year’s Community Impact Award was won by innovative online and in-person translation service Chatterbox; which brings the talent of refugees together with people and organisations in need of language skills. An excellent example of seeing a problem and harnessing skills alongside technology to create a win-win solution for all.

“We’re looking forward to discovering the new ideas and recognising those in the country who have been working hard this year to create technological solutions to the challenges that many face.”

You can nominate yourselves or others across eight categories:

  • AbilityNet Accessibility Award
  • BT Connected Society Award
  • BT Young Pioneer Award
  • Comic Relief T4G for Africa Award
  • Community Impact Award
  • Digital Health Award
  • Digital Skills Award
  • Digital Volunteer of the Year Award

Entries are judged by our expert panel of judges who have worked across the technology, digital and charity sectors and have the job of narrowing down 250+ entries to just 28 finalists.

The winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony hosted by BT on 17 July at BT Centre –a lively and inspiring occasion for all.

Enter now!