AbilityNet Tech4Good Awards Winners 2016

Congratulations to all of our AbilityNet Tech4Good Awards 2016 winners. A huge thank you to our judges, who had the tough decision of taking 200+ entries and turning them into 28 finalists, before arguing their case for who should win 8 of our 10 Tech4Good Awards.

A special thank you to everyone who voted in the Tech4Good People’s Award – we received a record-breaking 38,000 votes.

AbilityNet Accessibility Award


Sight loss can lead to isolation, poverty and depression. Almost half of the estimated 2 million visually impaired people living in the UK say they would like to leave their homes more often, but feel unable … Read more

BT MyDonate Award


Neighbourly is a simple and unique internet platform that connects community projects and charities with businesses and individuals that can donate time, money or surplus. Their clients include big names like Marks & Spencer, Starbucks and Heineken, … Read more

BT Young Pioneer Award


30,000 people die each week in Sub-Saharan Africa from drinking unsafe water, despite billions of pounds having gone into installing over 800,000 hand pumps. This is largely due to lack of maintenance and ongoing funds to … Read more

Community Impact Award


There are 80,000 sex workers in the UK who are disproportionately at risk of violent crime, and historically less likely to report acts of crime against them, leaving them vulnerable to serial offenders who believe … Read more

Digital Health Award


Devon Partnership Trust developed an innovative electronic visual control board. The concept of ‘MyWard’ is to provide simple visual clues and prompts for improving quality and safety of care. This system was developed in collaboration … Read more

Digital Skills Award

BBC micro:bit

It’s clear that there is a strong and well established need to focus on computing, digital and coding skills within the UK. A number of reports have highlighted this skills gap, including a study carried out on behalf … Read more

IT Volunteer of the Year Award

Maureen Johnston

In 2013, Maureen offered a few days of her spare time to help the newly established charity, The Silver Line with their national launch and to help set up the IT systems it needed. Three … Read more

Tech4Good People’s Award 2016

Arnav Sharma

Aged just nine years old, Arnav Sharma studied the cause, diagnosis and effect of asthma and came up with a solution; the AsthmaPi kit. Using a Raspberry Pi hooked up to a range of sensors … Read more

Tech4Good Special Award 2016

Robin Christopherson

Head of Digital Inclusion at AbilityNet, Robin has worked for over 20 years at the UK charity. He is an inspirational public speaker, he’s been a leading global expert on digital accessibility for more than … Read more

Sponsor the Awards

The Tech4Good Awards are organised by AbilityNet and Attendable and supported by a range of partners and sponsors.

Contact us to learn more about how you can support this year's Awards.

Subscribe to News