Winners 2014

This list includes the Tech4Good Special Award, the Winner of Winners Award, chosen by our guests at the Awards ceremony, and the People’s Award, chosen by the general public through the website and on Twitter – we received an amazing 20,000+ votes in total.

Accessibility Award 2014


Winner: Accessibility Award 2014 Winner of Winners 2014 SpecialEffect’s mission is to enable anyone, whatever their physical disability, to enjoy video games and leisure technology. It’s not all for the sake of fun, though as … Read more

BT Ingenious Award 2014


Mobile phones at the bottom of the economic pyramid markets are becoming very valuable because they give people access to opportunities. Subsistence farming adds very little value to an economy – in fact in Sub-Saharan … Read more

Digital Health Award 2014


At least 280 million people worldwide are visually impaired, 39 million of these people are blind and yet 80% of blindness is avoidable. Peek is a smart-phone based portable eye examination kit for comprehensive eye … Read more

Youth Award 2014

Ryan McMurdo

Ryan McMurdo is head of IT drop-in sessions for Startpoint, supporting over 1,000 learners get online and, more importantly, stay online each year. At 16 he took a part-time job at the chip shop to … Read more



AbilityNet Tech4Good Awards are organised by AbilityNet and BT
Supported by a range of sponsors and partners.