We had over 200 entries again this year and it was a tough job getting that down to just 26.
Once again, we have ended up with a unique mix of finalists, ranging from large multinational corporations to informal citizen-led networks and all points between, showing just how many people are using technology to do good.


A huge thank you to all the entrants for taking the time and effort to submit your nominations for the Awards. The quality of the entries was noticeably higher than last year, so many people who are doing extraordinary things using technology are going to be disappointed.


The judges will meet now to choose the winners, which will be announced at the Awards Ceremony which takes place in London on Friday 6th July 2012 at the BT Centre in London.


Are you a finalist? Take a look at the shortlist:


Accessibility Award, sponsored by AbilityNet and Microsoft

  • BSkyB
  • LexAble
  • Panasonic Corporation
  • Therapy Box Ltd

BT Get IT Together Award

  • Castle Community Network
  • Joining Communities Limited
  • Preston City Council

Community Impact Award sponsored by Microlink and UK online centres

  • The Stroke Group
  • #RiotCleanup
  • On Road Media

Community News Award sponsored by Media Trust and Third Sector magazine

  • Radio Free Brighton
  • Mind Waves Community Reporters Project
  • Harringay Online

Digital Fundraising Award sponsored by Camelot and NFP Tweetup

  • Child’s i Foundation
  • Mencap
  • Royal Hospital for Neuro-disability

Innovation Award sponsored by CTT and Microsoft

  • Insane Logic for MyChoicePad
  • ActionAid
  • Apex Challenge
  • Guess2Give

IT Volunteer of the Year Award sponsored by Cloud 9 Data Centre and IT4Communities

  • Gerhard Weber
  • Alison Crerar
  • Richard Easton

Working Together Award sponsored by Go ON UK and Barclaycard

  • Blackpool Wyre & Fylde Council for Voluntary Service
  • Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE)
  • Service/Kingston Job Centre PlusKingston Library and Heritage

Congratulations to everyone who has made it to the shortlists.